AC/DC: “Highway to Hell” limited gold LP

AC/DC: “Highway to Hell” limited gold LP


AC/DC: “Highway to Hell” limited gold LP. Released 15th March 2024

3 in stock

SKU: VSJ003492 Categories: , Tags: ,


AC/DC: “Highway to Hell” limited gold LP. Released 15th March 2024

limited gold 2024 50th anniversary edition

Highway to Hell is the sixth studio album by Australian hard rock band AC/DC, released on 27 July 1979. It is the first of three albums produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange, and is the last album featuring lead singer Bon Scott, who died on 19 February 1980.

By 1978, AC/DC had released five albums internationally and had toured Australia and Europe extensively.In 1977, they landed in America and, with virtually no radio support, began to amass a live following. The band’s most recent album, the live If You Want Blood, had reached number 13 in the United Kingdom, and the two albums previous to that, 1977’s Let There Be Rock and 1978’s Powerage, had seen the band find their raging, blues-based hard rock sound. Although the American branch of Atlantic Records had rejected the group’s 1976 LP Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, it now believed the band was poised to strike it big in the States if only they would work with a producer who could give them a radio-friendly sound.
They turned to Zambian-born producer Robert John “Mutt” Lange to step in. Lange was best known for producing the Boomtown Rats number-one hit “Rat Trap” and post-pub rock bands.

The album became AC/DC’s first LP to break the top 100 of the US Billboard 200 chart, eventually reaching number 17, and it propelled the band into the top ranks of hard rock acts. It is the second-highest selling AC/DC album (behind Back in Black) and is generally considered one of the greatest hard rock albums ever made.

1. “Highway to Hell” 3:29
2. “Girls Got Rhythm” 3:24
3. “Walk All Over You” 5:10
4. “Touch Too Much” 4:28
5. “Beating Around the Bush” 3:55

6. “Shot Down in Flames” 3:23
7. “Get It Hot” 2:35
8. “If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)” 4:38
9. “Love Hungry Man” 4:18
10. “Night Prowler” 6:13

Back to top