THEON CROSS: “Intra-I” LP. Released 29th Oct 2021

2 in stock

SKU: VSJ002300 Categories: ,


THEON CROSS: “Intra-I” LP. Released 29th Oct 2021

Second solo album from the SONS OF KEMET tuba player.

This unique record is an uplifting celebration of Black music that, thanks to Cross’ pioneering

approach, helps to redefine the sonic possibilities of the tuba. Reflecting his own heritage, the

young virtuoso melds jazz with dub, hip-hop, soca, grime and other sounds connected to the

Afro-Caribbean diaspora. Additionally, the record – which features Remi Graves, Shumba

Maasai, Afronaut Zu, Ahnansé, Consensus and Oren Marshall – is Cross’ first music to include

collaborations with guest vocalists, adding a further new dimension.

Theon Cross is at the forefront of the thriving London jazz scene. In 2015 he released solo EP

Aspirations and in 2019 followed it with his acclaimed debut solo album, Fyah. In addition to his

solo endeavours, Cross is a core member of Mercury nominated group Sons Of Kemet and has

collaborated with Little Simz, Stormzy, Moses Boyd, Nubya Garcia, Kano and others.

1. Intro

2. We Go Again

3. Roots feat. Shumba Massai

4. The Spiral feat. Afronaut Zu & Ahnansé

5. Trust The Journey

6. 40tude

7. Watching Over (Bless Up Dad)

8. Forward Progression II

9. Play To Win feat. Consensus

10. Universal Alignment feat. Oren Marshal

Back to top