RIVAL CONSOLES: “Overflow” limited 2LP.

RIVAL CONSOLES: “Overflow” limited 2LP.


RIVAL CONSOLES: “Overflow” limited 2LP. Released 3rd Dec 2021

2 in stock

SKU: VSJ002332 Category: Tags: ,


RIVAL CONSOLES: “Overflow” limited 2LP. Released 3rd Dec 2021

**LIMITED BLACK VINYL** Rival Consoles returns with a resonant and explorative soundscape of original
music, composed for renowned choreographer Alexander Whitley’s contemporary dance production Overflow.

Exploring themes of the human and emotional consequences of life surrounded by data, the piece
echoes the concept of social media, advertising, marketing companies and political factions
exploiting our data to gain wealth, political advantage and sow division. Key reading for the
project was based around the contemporary philosophical work Psychopolitics: Neoliberalism
and New Technologies of Power by Byung-Chul Han.

“The piece opens with Monster which has a kind of drunken madness to it, highly repetitive to mirror the
repetitive nature of how we as humans engage with technology such as social media. It’s sometimes
edging towards chaos but yet always returning back to the same starting point, but eventually giving way
to exhaustion. I wanted to create a bold opening piece for Overflow,” states West.

I Like features the mapping of data from dancer Tia Hockey’s personal monologue, which allows chords
to be heard – but only based on the activity of her voice, drawing attention to things happening behind
the curtain, invisible systems, algorithms.
The album also features the previously released standalone slice of euphoria, Pulses of Information
— described by UK mag Clash as “typically entrancing, Pulses of Information seems to encourage a form of internal dialogue, between our inner and outer selves.”

Overflow was premiered by the Alexander Whitley Dance Company in May 2021 at the Sadler’s Wells
in London and is scheduled to tour through theatres in Europe in spring 2022. The score will be released
by Erased Tapes on limited edition vinyl and CD as well as digital formats on December 3.

1. Monster
2. I Like
3. Hands
4. Pulses of Information
5. Noise Call and Response I
6. Overflow
7. The Cloud Oracle
8. Tension in the Cloud
9. Noise Call and Response II
10. Scanning
11. Flow State
12. Touches Everything
13. Making Sense of It All

Back to top