FLYTE: “This Is Going To Hurt” limited blue LP.

FLYTE: “This Is Going To Hurt” limited blue LP.


FLYTE: “This Is Going To Hurt” limited blue LP. Released 9th April 2021

1 in stock

SKU: VSJ001494 Category:


FLYTE: “This Is Going To Hurt” limited blue LP. Released 9th April 2021

Recorded in LA last year with collaborators Justin Raisen (Angel Olsen, Yves Tumor), Andrew Sarlo (Big Thief, Bon Iver) and mixing engineer Ali Chant (Aldous Harding), the record is a lucid documentation of lead singer Will Taylor’s formative breakup, and follows the ending of a relationship through the stages of grief and acceptance. The title is evocative of knowing the decision you are about to make will change your life forever. The first singles from the album, ‘Easy Tiger’ and ‘Losing You’, served as a stunning introduction.

In celebration of the announcement Flyte today also share another beguiling track lifted from the record, ‘Under the Skin’, with a stunning session video to coincide, following the release of the delicate ‘Never Get To Heaven’ and the immaculate live version performed in the forest at Blenheim Palace.

“Under the skin is a build-up of tension. It warns of imminent chaos. An ode to a relationship that’s on the brink of destruction. I hope we never have to write a song like it again, it was a very dark time” – says Will Taylor.

Garnering a reputation for extraordinary three part harmonies, performed in off-kilter spaces across the globe and amassing hundreds of thousands of views. It’s no surprise that the likes of Florence Pugh, Bon Iver, Paul Mescal and Lewis Capaldi are fans of a band, whose stripped back arrangements are as remarkable as their headline shows. News on book…

On the last real day of Summer at the end of September, Flyte announced they’d be performing on Parliament Hill in Hampstead Heath with 24 hours notice, and over 300 fans attended, socially distanced, on London’s looking point and enjoyed live music for the first time in months. As a continuation of creating intimate musical moments during lockdown, Flyte announced they’d be playing ‘Doorstep shows’ to unsuspecting fans and have documented their journey on Instagram. You can watch here. Ardent film fans, throughout lockdown the trio also collaborated with Bafta winning director Mark Jenkins (Bait) on the visuals for ‘Easy Tiger’ and ‘Losing You’. With lockdown their limitation, the band worked with Mark on finding archive footage which would tell the story of both tracks, and interweave romantic heartbreak into the narrative.

The three secondary school friends Will Taylor, Jon Supran and Nick Hill, are renowned for their complex and rich vocal arrangements and melodies, with lyrics steeped in literary imagery; The Sunday Times calling their acclaimed debut record The Loved Ones “The Best British debut album of the year,” but it was touring in California that recently took hold of their imagination. Inspired by their time in Laurel Canyon, the band recorded their next full-length record in LA, a much-needed new environment to confront the personally challenging subject matter written back home in London, and an opportunity to work with some of their musical heroes.


1. Easy Tiger
2. Losing You
3. I’ve Got A Girl
4. Under The Skin
5. Everyone’s A Winner
6. Trying to Break Your Heart
7. Love is An Accident
8. There’s a Woman
9. Mistress America
10. Never Get To Heaven

Back to top